top of page

Are We Obligated to a System That Doesn't Respect Us?


Facebook is toxic, undoubtedly. As is likely instagram, snapchat, and probably any other social media you subscribe to. There are always those few people who make it to the other side and quit everything-- they always say that it was “the best thing they ever did” and rave about how it changed their life. However, I’m not that strong so I’m going to keep scrolling and keep double clicking. Although, I do believe not all social media is bad. Maybe the next time you’re scrolling through, start to question what you’re seeing.


Today as I scrolled I saw something that I found interesting. Someone in their mid to late 40’s had shared a post that read a “football coach was asked what is the difference in football players today and 50 years ago. He answered ‘Simple, today’s athletes talka about rights and privileges. And the players 50 years ago talked about obligations and responsibilities!’ To me that describes society”. Now, I’ll be the first to admit that I’m incredibly skeptical of anything that compares people today to people in the past. People often forget that their own experiences are not synonymous with all of their peers, and that time can wash away things.


This post does seem to look over some seemingly obvious things; such as the antiwar movements of the 60’s and 70’s, race riots across the country, and alarmingly (yet seemingly unchanged) high levels of poverty. Civil rights movements and womens liberation boomed, the black power movement was having a hayday, as well as the welfare reform and the student movement. So,to me, to look back at an era of such large scale political and social protest and say such a thing seems almost comical. While this individual may have experienced a life like this, it was not universal and it is untrue to imply that it was.


One of my biggest thoughts was that even if it was completely true, it still speaks volumes. The American and capitalistic expectation that through it all, one should prioritize work and responsibilities. However, in my mind, why should one feel obligated to and responsible for a society that does not recognize privilege and respect their rights. How can we expect people to just keep giving of themselves, and not receive the most basic respect in return.


As a woman, I know that I likely don't make as much as my male peers for the same job and I'm not sure that I ever will. Why should I continue to blindly follow into this system? I would hope that somehow would say something. I'll say something now, and I guarantee if I had a larger platform I would still be saying something. In fact, I think to stop being passionate about issues solely because you have a platform would be shameful and cowardly.


In a society as broken as ours, I think it is important and necessary that people with platforms that reach large groups, such as football players, use that platform to incite positive change. I can’t speak for others, but I know that I expect the people I give my money, time, and admiration to to be a positive force in the world. It makes me wonder; why are people so uncomfortable watching social change? No one seems to care if it’s a voice that supports their opinion, but the second it doesn’t align with their views its considered unnecessary and a “problem” with the youth. We are human beings, and we as a society have been taught to value so many things over ourselves. But this is not right. We should be our top priority. If something were to happen to one of us, our jobs would replace us within days. We cannot replace ourselves.


Perhaps the youth have higher expectations of their idols, and are tired of giving into a system that gives them nothing back. And, perhaps, instead of becoming frustrated with these raised expectations, some understanding and even appreciation would be well placed. I encourage you to place your rights over your obligations.



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page