top of page

But What is "Hot Girl Summer"?

If you’ve been around me at all over the past few months, you’ve probably heard the phrase “hot girl summer”. But, what is “Hot Girl Summer”? Contrary to popular belief, hot girl summer is not a look or aesthetic, or even a certain list of experiences. Rather, hot girl summer is whatever you need it to be. So often throughout the school year, we lose so much autonomy over our time and in turn it can feel like our emotions and experiences. So, for the next few months, reclaim that and set yourself up for success next year.


A common misconception is that Hot Girl Summer (HGS) is just going out more, drinking more, maybe having more sex, And maybe for some people, or in situations, that's exactly what it is. But to paint HGS with such a broad brushstroke would be to do it a disservice.


For me, hot girl summer is working jobs that I love and making money, and spending time with those closest to me. It’s doing exactly what I want to do. For example, for years now I’ve hated pictures of myself. My goal for the summer is to take as many pictures of myself and my environment as possible. To overcome that aversion. I want to spend the summer being independent and developing myself personally and professionally. To be a bad bitch. It’s wearing cute sundresses to the grocery store, just because I can. I've taken to going on "hot girl walks"-- just to get my steps in, enjoy the city, and better myself. Spending an hour a day walking around just makes me happy! I want to hold myself to a higher standard and work to create fun opportunities for myself.


I want to connect with more people-- both new and from my past. I want to keep to my workout regime and eat better. I want to, really "live my best life" and push myself to do so.


If you're doing hot girl summer for anyone other than yourself, you're doing it wrong. Because, when broken down to its most basic concepts, anyone can have a hot girl summer. Hot girl summer is using the summer to recharge and do it for you. Go out with your friends more, pick up that extra shift when you can, and work to figure your life out.


Hot Girl Summer is not an experience to have, but rather one to find.



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page