top of page

Feeling Very Into Poems Today

I stand in the shower

Looking at the veins splaying across the tops of my feet

Like roadmaps to the heavens


Branches of life

The veins carry my life

But within them is carried the life of my ancestors as well


Our entire essence

Trapped in my toes


They once looked down and saw their veins as well

Never knowing it would lead to me


I imagine the lives that came before me

Did they fight in war?

How did they love?

How did they hurt?


The people that had no idea that they would eventually lead to me

I wonder what they think now

Their blood in my veins


I often wonder where the life in my veins will lead me

How will I continue this legacy


And what about those after me?


Where will my veins take the world?


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page