top of page

Welcome To Gilead


As I’m sure anyone who doesn’t live under a rock has heard, in early September Texas was able to successfully put an abortion ban into place that effectively bans all and any possibility for abortion. It’s a six week ban, but realistic it would be near impossible to know you were pregnant prior to 6 weeks. Many OB-GYNS won’t even see you until after the six week mark, if you do somehow know early that you’re pregnant.

Let me preface this by saying, I totally respect an individuals decision to not get an abortion. I totally respect the individual who decides to wait until marriage-- just as much as I respect the individual who doesn’t. I understand that it is a deeply PERSONAL decision (meaning that it should be a choice that everyone is given).


However, I have found, that nearly every time I talk to someone who is pro-life, it is often times based in their religious beliefs. Religious beliefs, as I previously said, are no issue to me. But, I do take issue when others start to assume and impart their on religious views on others. As much as you can say that something is the “truth”, if it’s only the truth because of a set of religious guidelines that you choose to follow, it is not a universal truth. You feel that the Bible is telling you not to get an abortion? Fine, don’t get one.


Separation of church and state has always been listed as a priority in the United States, as our founding fathers knew it was and would continue to be important. How successful we’ve been at this separation is debatable, however in theory it should work great. We, as a nation, should not be making legal policies grounded in any religious beliefs. Especially ones centralized around healthcare. Mess with healthcare, and you mess with people’s lives. And, unfortunately, you’re likely messing with the lives and families of marginalized groups. Not the rich white men and their wives that voted these laws into place.


I’m so tired of hearing people rationalize the oppression of others based on their religious beliefs. There is no reason and (largely) only Christians get away with it in our country. As diversity of all aspects of life and population increase at rapid rates, the old “status quo” gets uncomfortable and is lashing out in a feeble attempt to regain control. Your "truth" is not a truth-- it is a belief. Valuable to you, but could mean nothing to others. There is such a self inflated sense of worth in the world today with everyone having their own "truth". If you're argument relies on any biblical or religious argument, it is instantly and completely de-validated. You cannot then hold anyone else to those standards or ideals. Keep it to yourself


Why are men not held accountable for anything related to the pregnancy? No one wants to reform those laws. For the life of me, I can’t even fathom why men would get an opinion on abortion. If you and your partner don’t want an abortion, don’t get one. I don’t know how much simpler I can make it.


I wait anxiously to see the long term effects of Texas’s ruling. Texas already has one of their poorest education systems in the country. Schools in Texas are not even required to teach sex education. And if they do, many just elect to teach abstinence. The rich people will find ways to leave the state and get abortions when needed, and the poor and marginalized will be forced to carry out unwanted pregnancies. Voila. A vicious cycle leading to certain groups of people continuing to be controlled and brought down by the more powerful group. All in the name of God.


I hope they are willing to start paying social workers more, as the number of children in the foster system is about to skyrocket. I hope they start pushing more people to go into social work and to start adopting, so that there are families that understand the needs of these individuals.


LiveAction is one of the largest anti-abortion (Christian) lobbying groups. They often come from the stance that they do support safe sex, although they encourage abortion. However, a few days ago they posted in horror at middle and high schools giving out free condoms to students. How dare they sexualize our students, right? What do they think will happen when you start to pull away birth control options? You can’t force the entire world to wait until marriage and to only have beautiful, wanted, healthy pregnancies. It’s ridiculous, and in a sick sort of twisted way, almost comical. They aren’t pro-safe sex, they are pro-uneducated.


Imagine not being able to access safe healthcare because a God you don’t believe in says it is bad.


I consider myself an already passionate person, and the latest actions by Texas have only heightened that. I’m angry. I’m angry at the world. I’m angry that I’m treated differently. I’m angry that I have to prove myself. I’m angry that the men in this world have any say in what I do with my body because their bible told them so. I`m angry for anyone who has ever been victimized like this. I see no logical reason as to why it would be okay. I’m angry that I have to get angry.


How dare anyone try to tell anyone what they are or aren't allowed to do with their own bodily autonomy with something that literally only effects that individual.



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page